Denton Assault Attorney
Representing Those Accused of Assault & Family Violence
Domestic violence cases are receiving much more attention from law enforcement than they have in the past. Even allegations of emotional, verbal, or sexual abuse may lead to charges. When police are called to the scene, someone is likely going to get arrested. If you find yourself arrested for the assault of a loved one, you need to take immediate action.
At James H. Horton Law Firm, P.C., our attorneys have over 80 years of combined experience defending people charged with assault and family violence. Our lead attorney, Jim Horton, is a specialist in criminal law, as certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He has handled hundreds of trials throughout the state, and he is ready to help you protect yourself against these serious accusations.
For reliable representation from experienced assault attorneys in Denton, call (940) 310-6122 now.
What is Simple Assault?
In Texas, simple assault – defined as an assault that causes minor injury – is a Class A misdemeanor. A conviction for this type of charge can lead to up to a year in jail and a maximum fine of $4,000. If the offense merely involved a threat and did not result in physical injury to the victim, it is charged as a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500.
When is Assault Charged as a Felony?
In some cases, simple assault charges can be increased to a third-degree felony. A felony is considered a “more serious” crime and results in harsher consequences. The potential penalties for a third-degree felony in Texas include up to 10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
An individual accused of assault may be charged with a third-degree felony when:
- They have a previous conviction for domestic violence, and the assault is committed against a family member or intimate partner
- They assault a security guard or emergency worker during the course of performing their duties
- They assault someone whom they know to be a public servant or governmental contractor
In cases where serious injury occurs, or there was a weapon involved, an individual may be charged with aggravated assault. In Texas, aggravated assault is a second-degree felony, punishable by up to 20 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Penalties for Domestic Violence
Penalties for a domestic violence conviction are extremely severe. You may be looking at serious jail or prison time, and, you will have to comply with no-contact orders after being released. In addition, you may lose your right to own firearms. If you have children, you may lose visitation time due to the conviction.
There Are Two Sides to Every Story. Yours Should Be Heard.
These cases often involve two different stories, and it is our job to find out what really happened. At our law firm, you can always meet with our lawyers to discuss your case. Once we have learned more about your situation, we immediately start preparing your defense. We interview any witnesses who were present when the event occurred, and we compare their statements with what they said at the scene. Our attorneys can also examine law enforcement reports to determine what factors they relied upon when they made the arrest.
If prosecutors are unwilling to budge from their version of events, we are not afraid to try your case in court. Our legal team has extensive experience inside the courtroom, and we are confident in our ability to present a compelling defense on your behalf.
He goes above and beyond to met his clients needs.- Gregory W.
Jim Horton is not only great lawyer but, a great person.- Christopher R.
I'll always be indebted to him for the fantastic job he did for me.- Mark M.
You will LOVE the final outcome.- Frank M.
Jim Horton is the attorney you want on your side.- Gigi L.
We Value Honesty & Show Genuine Care to Every Client
We Are Determined & Won't Back Down from a Challenging Case
Thousands of Trials Handled & Over 500 Tried to a Jury
Mr. Horton Is Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board Of Legal Specialization