Serving Texas with Over Four Decades of Experience

Denton DWI Attorneys

DWI Laws in Texas

Law enforcement agencies are committed to bringing an end to DWI in Texas. Police routinely set up saturation patrols in Denton and the surrounding communities, hoping to spot impaired motorists. If you are stopped by police under the suspicion of driving while intoxicated, you need to contact an experienced lawyer as soon as possible to begin building a defense to these allegations.

At James H. Horton Law Firm, P.C., our Denton DWI attorneys have over 80 years of combined experience defending the accused. Further, our lead attorney, Jim Horton, is a specialist in criminal law, as certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, and has handled over 200 jury trials and 400 bench trials throughout the state.

Denton Criminal Defense


Juvenile Crimes

Sex Crimes

White Collar Crimes

Facing charges for DWI in Denton? Call us today at (940) 382-1561 for reliable advocacy from our Denton DWI lawyers.

Texas Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limit

Did you know that according to Texas law, a DWI offense for driving while intoxicated can be given to any person so long as the motor vehicle has been operated in a public place. Many people believe that being “intoxicated” simply means you have over .08 BAC (blood alcohol content). However, a police officer can deem you as having intoxication even if your BAC is legal for being lower than .08, so long as they believe your physical and mental faculties have been negatively affected.

What are the Penalties for DWI in Denton?

If this is your first offense:

  • You could pay$2,000 in fees
  • Stay up to 180 days in prison
  • 24-200 hours of community service
  • Receive a license suspension of 90 days to 1 year
  • You would also need to pay a cost every year for three years just to retain your driver’s license

Send A Message

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

If this is your second offense:

  • Fines up to $4,000
  • Up to one year in jail
  • 80-200 hours of community service
  • Installation of a Deep Lung Air Device
  • Receive a license suspension of 180 days to 2 years

If this is your third offense:

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Up to 10 years in jail
  • 140-800 hours of community service
  • Installation of a Deep Lung Air Device
  • Receive a license suspension of 180 days to 2 years

Field Sobriety Tests

The Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) is made of up 3 individual tests:

  • In the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) test, the officer will observe the eyes of the personas they slowly move a pen or small object back and forth to look for signs their eyes that the person is impaired.
  • In the Walk-and-turn test, the officer instructs the person to take about nine steps, in a straight line and the return back. The officer is looking for signs that the person is intoxicated such as not being able to keep their balance or not following the instructions properly.
  • In the One-leg stand test, the officer instructs the person to stand with one foot in the air and hold it for about 30 seconds. The officer looks for signs that the person is impaired such as swaying, hoping or using their arms to balance.

Not Your Average Attorneys

We have a reputation as being strong advocates for our clients. Whether attempting to negotiate a settlement or arguing for you in the courtroom, we are well-equipped to provide you with the representation that you need at such a challenging time in your life.

Get Started by Giving Us a Call


Helping You Keep Your Texas Driving Privileges

Prosecutors are very aggressive with Denton DWI cases, and you need to be sure that you understand that you are facing serious penalties if you are convicted of the offense. Whether this is your first DWI arrest or you are facing felony DWI charges due to repeat Denton DWI convictions, you need to take immediate action to protect your rights.

We help with several different aspects of your drunk driving case, including:

  • Reviewing videotape of the traffic stop to ensure police followed all procedures
  • Examining the qualifications of technicians responsible for administering blood, breath or chemical tests
  • Challenging the accuracy of the results of these tests
  • Working with prosecutors to reach an agreement on lesser charges, or to dismiss your case altogether, if possible

You Only Have 15 Days To Protect Your Driver License

Many people do not know that the state can suspend your driver’s license even if you offer up a successful defense to the drinking and driving charges. The Texas Department of Public Safety can revoke your driving privileges if you fail to submit to blood or breath tests if requested by the officer. Our DWI attorneys in Denton can help you contest this suspension, and possibly help you obtain an occupational license so that you can drive to and from work.

Jim Horton is the attorney you want on your side.

“I can’t thank Jim enough for the years of service and friendship he and his associates have given to my family and me.”

Gigi L.

He goes above and beyond to met his clients needs.

“His staff and legal assistant all make you feel like family. I highly recommend this firm for your legal needs.”

Gregory W.

Jim Horton is not only great lawyer but, a great person.

“I owe him a great deal of gratitude for everything he did to help me!”

Christopher R.

I’ll always be indebted to him for the fantastic job he did for me.

“There’s not many people you can say in life have your back, Jim certainly had mine!”

Mark M.

You will LOVE the final outcome.

“I put my full trust in him and if needed you should do the same, trust me!”

Frank M.

Get a personal consultation.

Send Us A Message

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.